Leeds Entrepreneurs Alliance

Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado Boulder

Meet the Student Entrepreneurs: Jasmine Blanchard

This is the first post in a new series on the LEA website, highlighting student entrepreneurs. Our first entrepreneur, Jasmine Blanchard, is in the MBA Class of 2014. Outside of the classroom she is an amazing artist and is trying to develop her talent into a growing business. Please watch the video below to see an example of Jasmine’s work before reading what she had to say about how the CU MBA has helped her grow as an entrepreneur.

Tell us more about your business, Jasmine Rochelle Fine Arts.

I launched Jasmine Rochelle Fine Arts in early 2012, as a response to an increasing demand for my artwork. As an artist for almost twenty years, I wanted to pursue a career option that I was passionate about and one that had potential for success. My business predominately focuses on individual requests for artwork, also known as commissions, and selling collections through art fairs and art showcases around the Colorado region. In addition, I offer art classes and work on creative collaboration projects, such as murals and body art photo-shoots.

What is the best part about having your own business?

Flexibility and hard work are my favorite parts of owning my own business. The fact that I can learn something in class, and immediately apply it to my business makes this a constant learning process that I find exciting. It is also empowering, as I am able to pursue my career and develop my business in the way that I see fit.

How have the entrepreneurship courses in the MBA program helped you?

Last semester, I took the Entrepreneurship course, and learned how to walk through a feasibility study process. From this, I learned the importance of objectively evaluating the business potential and the value of due diligence for each aspect of the venture. This semester, I am taking Business Plan Development, and am learning how important it is to have conversations with both industry experts and the end customer in order to understand the market and viability of the business. These courses have given me to the opportunity to consider my business from many different angles, and explore new possibilities for the future that I would not have otherwise contemplated.

What are your future goals for your company?

My future goals for Jasmine Rochelle Fine Arts are to 1) establish the company as a trusted and known brand of quality fine art through continuous online content development (customer stories, blogging art advice, and my YouTube channel) 2) expand my art and wine class offerings, 3) develop a national physical presence in galleries and other places of business and 4) eventually represent other artists and their work.

3 comments on “Meet the Student Entrepreneurs: Jasmine Blanchard

  1. Karen Bluestone
    October 20, 2013

    Fabulous work! No doubt in my mind that your business will flourish!

  2. Ann Ruderman
    October 20, 2013

    Beautiful video. It’s amazing to watch the painting come to life. You are a very talented artist.

  3. Leeds Entrepreneurs Alliance
    October 26, 2013

    Thank you all for the supportive comments!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2013 by in Student Entrepreneurs and tagged , , .
